Discover our Halloween Special 15% Off on $100+ on selected items

Free Shipping on $40+ and Free Next Day Shipping on $100+

Is Venchi Chocolate Gluten-Free?

Attention to gluten and gluten-free food has grown rapidly over the last ten years. More consumers are opting to reduce or eliminate the protein known as gluten in their diets, whether they are diagnosed with Celiac disease (an autoimmune disease where the small intestine may be damaged by gluten consumption) or are choosing to avoid the gluten protein for other reasons. Some people monitor gluten in their pursuit of diet trends such as eating a no- to low-carbohydrate diet (such as the Keto diet) or because they believe they have adverse reactions to ingredients often found in tandem with gluten-laden foods.

Luckily cocoa, the basis of chocolate, is naturally gluten-free food!

The chocolate delicacies produced by Venchi, and in fact all chocolate, begins life as a fruit of the cacao tree. Cacao is suggested to be native to the Amazon Basin and is widely cultivated in a tropical belt around the Equator, though much of the world’s production now comes from West Africa. The colorful cacao pods are harvested from the trees throughout the year at the peak of ripeness. Cacao beans are extracted from the pods and allowed to slowly relax and ferment to develop the complex flavors you love. The beans are carefully processed into a cocoa paste before being masterfully swirled with exquisite cocoa butter. Venchi offers a diverse selection of chocolate products, each crafted with precise attention to detail and only the finest of ingredients. Cocoa products are naturally gluten-free food, and Venchi takes great measures to ensure that its gluten-free products are not adulterated with added grain proteins.

While pure cocoa is naturally vegan and gluten-free food, cocoa is often blended with dairy products to craft more luscious chocolate. Additional additives such as barley malt, brewer’s yeast, and malt extract may be added to a chocolate product, and these additives may contain the protein known as gluten. Gluten may also be present in chocolate products through cross-contamination; if the chocolate product is processed or packaged near products containing gluten, there is a possibility that the chocolate will carry the gluten protein.

While cocoa is naturally gluten-free, It is important for consumers, especially those monitoring their diets for Celiac disease or gluten sensitivities, to carefully read ingredient labels and be aware of potential cross-contamination and gluten presence in food additives.

Venchi is pleased to offer a wide selection of exquisitely-crafted gluten-free chocolates for your enjoyment. Sink into the luxury of the Gianduja Experience Box , specifically curated to tantalize you with the finest blends of cocoa and 100% IGP Piedmontese hazelnuts. A study in flavor, aroma, and texture, this experience is entirely gluten-free and a perfect gift for others or yourself.